top of page

WAW Reviews: Separate is Never Equal and The Family Romanov

Happy Wednesday, Readers! I'm sitting here in awe of our country's athletes winning Olympic gold medals... while I can barely use a hot glue gun without tripping over it's cord. (Seriously, the hot glue gun is our best friend in August, isn't it?) Anyways, in case you need a break from the Olympic action, here are a couple more books you can pick up!

Today I have a couple more nonfiction books for you, Separate is Never Equal and The Family Romanov. As always, you will see a summary below of each book, followed by my personal thoughts based on what students might say. If you aren't able to get through these books yourself, I hope this post will better prepare for what students might say.

 

Separate is Never Equal: Sylvia Mendez and Her Family's Fight for Desegregation by Duncan Tonatiuh

Summary: Almost 10 years before Brown vs. Board of Education, Sylvia Mendez and her parents helped end school segregation in California. An American citizen of Mexican and Puerto Rican heritage who spoke and wrote perfect English, Mendez was denied enrollment to a “Whites only” school. Her parents took action by organizing the Hispanic community and filing a lawsuit in federal district court. Their success eventually brought an end to the era of segregated education in California. The author/illustrator uses his signature illustration style and incorporating his interviews with Sylvia Mendez, as well as information from court files and news accounts to create this very informative and detailed nonfiction picture book. (Review from Amazon)

Thoughts: This is the typical nonfiction William Allen White nominee selection. Culturally diverse in content and illustrations, while being completely jam packed with information. Because of the length, I think most students will be willing to pick this book up. Knowing my patrons though, I believe that some may be turned off by the illustrations that are stylistically and culturally different. I will work my magic and make sure it gets in their hands. It is unbelievable the fight that had to be fought for equal rights and education and it is something our student need to know about our American history. I am surprised that this is the first time I have heard of Sylvia Mendez myself. I am glad that my students will be able to learn about her story at a younger age.

I also love that there is some bilingual text throughout the book. In the words of Mrs. Mendez, "Cuando la causa es justa, los demas te siguen." When you fight for justice, others will follow.

 

The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion, and the Fall of Imperial Russia by Candace Fleming

Summary: Here is the tumultuous, heartrending, true story of the Romanovs—at once an intimate portrait of Russia's last royal family and a gripping account of its undoing. Using captivating photos and compelling first person accounts, award-winning author Candace Fleming (Amelia Lost; The Lincolns) deftly maneuvers between the imperial family’s extravagant lives and the plight of Russia's poor masses, making this an utterly mesmerizing read as well as a perfect resource for meeting Common Core standards. (Review definitely from Amazon)

Thoughts: Let me tell you, I am so glad I was wrong about this book. I was dreading picking up this book thinking it would be a dry nonfiction book that would bore me to death. Wrong! From the first chapter I was honestly captivated and even read past midnight. It was crazy thinking about all the events in this book taking place just a 100 years ago. The lives of the royal family contrasted with that of the peasants was unreal. The constant pressure to have a son for an heir to the throne leaves you feeling sorry for the naive rulers and sympathetic for the boy living with hemophilia. The constant battle between the people and the government make you shocked how long it takes for the inevitable to happen. I know that because this is a high seventh grade level book not many of my students will be picking it up, but I can only hope! I have already picked up a couple more books by this author from the library since finishing this book several days ago. It takes an amazing writer for a detailed nonfiction book feel like a novel for me! Bravo, Candace Fleming.

 

I have seven more books to read... so it's time to pick up the pace and head towards the finish line of this series in a dead sprint. I may just fall over the finish line in tears, but as long as I make it we will be okay! Seven posts down, four to go...

Back to the books,

Audra


Meet The Reeding Librarian

I am The Reeding Librarian, otherwise known as Audra Reed.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
bottom of page