top of page

Eleven Must Have Books for Young Readers about September 11th

Fifteen years ago.

As adults, we know exactly where we were when we first heard about the attacks on America. I was in Mr. Schroeder's eighth grade social studies class. I remember watching the news at school being shocked and confused about what I was seeing on the TV. I'm sure I was not the only kid that day that didn't understand what was going on.

Fast forward to our students now, where this year's freshman class is the first group of high schoolers that weren't born yet when the terrorist attacks happened. (I don't know about you, but that makes me feel super old!) Once again we have students that don't understand what happened.

It is our job to continue to teach our students about events such as this. Although they may see these books as historical fiction, it will help them to understand the importance of attacks to our country's history. And yes, this can be a sensitive topic. But we teach our kids about history so we can educate them on the past so it doesn't repeat itself.

For these very reasons, I put together a display of books that are appropriate and sensitive enough for my elementary readers.

Book list:

3. 14 Cows for America by Carmen Agra Deedy

4. Saved by the Boats by Julie Gassman

5. America is Under Attack by Don Brown

6. Nine, Ten: A September 11 Story by Nora Raleigh Baskin

7. Towers Falling by Jewell Parker Rhodes

8. Eleven by Tom Rogers

9. Somewhere Among by Annie Donwerth-Chikamatsu

11. What Were the Twin Towers by Jim O'Connor

What other books are you using to teach your students about 9/11 and other sensitive times in history?

Never forget,

Audra

P.S. I would love to hear from you! The comments on this hosted site is not easy to navigate. Feel free to e-mail me at thereedinglibrarian@gmail.com.


Meet The Reeding Librarian

I am The Reeding Librarian, otherwise known as Audra Reed.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
bottom of page