top of page

WAW Reviews: A Million Ways Home and Courage for Beginners

It's the first week of school, but I'm here with two more middle grade books from the William Allen White (6th through 8th grade) list! (Spoiler alert: both of them get so-so reviews from this reader.)

Both of these books, A Million Ways Home and Courage for Beginners, are realistic fiction with a twist. As always, you will see a summary below of each book, followed by my personal thoughts based on what students might say. If you aren't able to get through these books yourself, I hope this post will better prepare for what students might say.

 

A Million Ways Home by Dianna Dorisi Winget

Summary: Poppy's life has been turned upside down after her grandma (and guardian) had a stroke and ended up in the hospital. But Poppy is working on a plan to help Grandma Beth so their life together can go back to normal. But when she witnesses an armed robbery, "back to normal" slips even further out of her reach. To keep Poppy safe, the budget-strapped police devise an unusual "witness protection program," wherein Poppy will stay with Detective Brannigan's mother. Soon Poppy is feeling almost at home, even making sort-of friends with a girl named Lizzie and definitely befriending Gunner, a beautiful dog with an uncertain fate. But it's still not home. So while she and Lizzie navigate a rocky friendship and plot to save Gunner's life, Poppy also tries to figure out a new plan to save Grandma Beth and their home, all while avoiding a dangerous robber who might be searching for her. But what if Grandma Beth can never come home and the robber is put behind bars? What will happen to Poppy then? (Review from Amazon)

Thoughts: So maybe it's the beginning of the year freak out mode, but I don't remember a whole lot about this book... which I read just a month ago. I remember that I enjoyed it while reading it, but it wasn't one that stuck with me. It's one that tells the story in an atypical family situation, which I'm so happy we can see more and more of since that's what we are seeing more and more of in our schools. Many kids can relate with living with their grandparents and worrying about them when they are sick. I think kids will be engrossed in the fact that she witnesses a crime and has to go into witness protection. Gunner, the German Shepard, didn't appear as much as I thought he would, so that might lead some kids astray who pick the book up based on his cover. All that being said, I think I will have students that reach for this one all year long.

 

Courage for Beginners by Karen Harrington

Summary: Twelve-year-old Mysti Murphy wishes she were a character in a book. If her life were fictional, she'd magically know how to deal with the fact that her best friend, Anibal Gomez, has abandoned her in favor of being a "hipster." She'd be able to take care of everyone when her dad has to spend time in the hospital. And she'd certainly be able to change her family's secret, that her mother never leaves the house. Seventh grade is not turning out the way Mysti had planned. With the help of a hot-hair balloon, her new friend Rama Khan--and maybe even the heroes of the Texas Revolution--can she find the courage to change? (Review from Amazon)

Thoughts: Let me start with I listened to this on audiobook while getting ready for work the last couple weeks. So maybe it was the early morning pre-school year fog, but I have mixed feelings about this book. The premise behind it was intriguing. I had never read a book about a person with agoraphobia, which fear cripples someone so much they are afraid to leave the house. It would also be relatable for middle schoolers struggling to keep old friends while trying to fit in and make new ones at the same time. But ultimately, I found this extremely repetitive. Mysti gets bullied over and over by her best friend, her mother constantly freaks out, and even certain phrases like "Here is a girl" or "RAMA KHAN!" are on repeat. All of a sudden, she fixes her problems or comes to terms with them. It was kind of like treading water for 2 hours, only to realize that the water is only four feet deep and you could have stood safely the whole time. Because of that I can see some of my readers abandon this book due to repetitiveness. I think some of my higher readers will be able to get through it at a faster pace and might enjoy it as well.

 

The tough part about an award list is that you might not always agree with the books that make the list. But it's our job as teachers and librarians to sell, sell, sell! I know which of my readers these two books will appeal to and I will make sure they get in their hands with a "glowing" recommendation from their librarian. :)

Only 6 more books on the list left to go! Next week I will be introducing the list to my students using a preview game that mixes call number practice and QR self-checking. Stay tuned for that activity to be shared and available to you!

Back to the books,

Audra


Meet The Reeding Librarian

I am The Reeding Librarian, otherwise known as Audra Reed.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
bottom of page