top of page

Top Ten Children's and YA Books of 2016

Long time no see, friends. Another year of reading has come and gone! How is this possible?

Each year my reading goal is 100 chapter books... this year I fell way short of the goal after being diagnosed with breast cancer in mid-October.

Like 19 books short, whoopsi.

I don't know about you, but my brain just doesn't slow down the same for reading when I've got big, hairy things I'm thinking about.

Oh well, there's always this next year!

Before I share with you what I'm looking forward to reading in 2017, let's look back at the reads that stuck with me the most in 2016.

This list includes all children's and YA novels. I posted my adult reading list on my other blog, three.six.five projects a few days ago.

Below you will see the cover art of each book, a short summary, and why it stuck with me or is worth recommending. The order they appear is simply the order in which I read them.

And as always, please share your recommendations with me!

 

Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate

Summary: Jackson and his family have fallen on hard times. They don't have money to pay the rent and food is in short supply. The family might be forced to live in their minivan again. When it looks like things are going to hit rock bottom, Jackson receives an unexpected visit from Crenshaw, his imaginary friend. Can this large, furry pal actually help? (From Amazon)

My Thoughts: I just loved Crenshaw. It was funny and raw all at the same time. It really got me thinking about those kids that might be dealing with the same family situation of being homeless. I love these kind of books that are told by kids, relatable to kids, and teaches kids empathy.

 

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Summary: My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla. But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He's tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly. Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster. (From Amazon)

My Thoughts: I binged read this YA novel. I don't know that I have ever read a novel about this particular disease. I'm not going to say too much more so I don't give it away, but five star books to me are ones that surprise me and I can't figure out before the ending. Well, I figured this one out ahead of time, so I will give it 4.5 stars. It's just a great YA romance with a twist.

 

The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket

Summary: Make no mistake. The Bad Beginning begins badly for the three Baudelaire children, and then gets worse. Their misfortunes begin one gray day on Briny Beach when Mr. Poe tells them that their parents perished in a fire that destroyed their whole house. "It is useless for me to describe to you how terrible Violet, Klaus, and even Sunny felt in the time that followed," laments the personable (occasionally pedantic) narrator, who tells the story as if his readers are gathered around an armchair on pillows. But of course what follows is dreadful. The children thought it was bad when the well-meaning Poes bought them grotesque-colored clothing that itched. But when they are ushered to the dilapidated doorstep of the miserable, thin, unshaven, shiny-eyed, money-grubbing Count Olaf, they know that they--and their family fortune--are in real trouble. Still, they could never have anticipated how much trouble. (Amazon Review)

My Thoughts: I know, I know. Bad librarian. I had never read these books until this past year. They were highly recommended by my boyfriend, which are basically the only ones he recalls reading as a kid so I knew they had to be really good. He was right. (Don't tell him I said that.) I need to power through the rest of this series before I get started on the Netflix series coming out soon! (It's a rule!!)

 

All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook by Leslie Connor

Summary: Eleven-year-old Perry was born and raised by his mom at the Blue River Co-ed Correctional Facility in tiny Surprise, Nebraska. His mom is a resident on Cell Block C, and so far Warden Daugherty has made it possible for them to be together. That is, until a new district attorney discovers the truth—and Perry is removed from the facility and forced into a foster home. When Perry moves to the “outside” world, he feels trapped. Desperate to be reunited with his mom, Perry goes on a quest for answers about her past crime. As he gets closer to the truth, he will discover that love makes people resilient no matter where they come from . . . but can he find a way to tell everyone what home truly means? (From Amazon)

My Thoughts: I just loved Perry and can't recommend this book enough. Another kid in an extraordinary circumstance who has to try and understand the real world around him. You also start routing for the the prisoners along the way too. Love, love, love.

 

Harris and Me by Gary Paulsen

Summary: A young boy spends his tenth summer on his aunt and uncle's farm, where he is constantly involved in crazy escapades with his cousin Harris. On the Larson farm, readers will experience hearts as large as farmers; appetites, humor as broad as the country landscape and adventures as wild as boyhood imaginations. All this adds up to a hearty helping of old-fashioned, rip-roaring entertainment. (From Amazon)

My Thoughts: Oh my goodness! This one had me laughing SO hard. I really wish the language was more appropriate so I could share this with some of my older readers, because I know they would just love the hilarious antics of these two boys. I don't know that I've ever laughed so much from cover to cover. You have to read this!

 

We Will Not Be Silent by Russell Freedman

Summary: In his signature eloquent prose, backed up by thorough research, Russell Freedman tells the story of Austrian-born Hans Scholl and his sister Sophie. They belonged to Hitler Youth as young children, but began to doubt the Nazi regime. As older students, the Scholls and a few friends formed the White Rose, a campaign of active resistance to Hitler and the Nazis. Risking imprisonment or even execution, the White Rose members distributed leaflets urging Germans to defy the Nazi government. Their belief that freedom was worth dying for will inspire young readers to stand up for what they believe in. (From Amazon)

My Thoughts: I'm a huge WWII/Holocaust reader. I devoured this particular read in no time since it didn't read much like other nonfiction works. It was very informative but also had you wanting to read more to find out what happened next with the White Rose members.

 

Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin

Summary: Rose Howard is obsessed with homonyms. She's thrilled that her own name is a homonym, and she purposely gave her dog Rain a name with two homonyms (Reign, Rein), which, according to Rose's rules of homonyms, is very special. Not everyone understands Rose's obsessions, her rules, and the other things that make her different – not her teachers, not other kids, and not her single father. When a storm hits their rural town, rivers overflow, the roads are flooded, and Rain goes missing. Rose's father shouldn't have let Rain out. Now Rose has to find her dog, even if it means leaving her routines and safe places to search. (From Amazon)

My Thoughts: Ohhhhh, this book. I have a love-hate relationship with it. I hate that it made me cry three times, which is the most I have EVER cried while reading... but I absolutely LOVED everything else about it! I loved that the quirky main character will teach kids (and adults) empathy and the relationship with the dog in the story made have all the feels. This might have been my favorite on the year... and many of my students feel the same way.

 

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

Summary: Dill has had to wrestle with vipers his whole life—at home, as the only son of a Pentecostal minister who urges him to handle poisonous rattlesnakes, and at school, where he faces down bullies who target him for his father’s extreme faith and very public fall from grace. The only antidote to all this venom is his friendship with fellow outcasts Travis and Lydia. But as they are starting their senior year, Dill feels the coils of his future tightening around him. Dill’s only escapes are his music and his secret feelings for Lydia—neither of which he is brave enough to share. Graduation feels more like an ending to Dill than a beginning. But even before then, he must cope with another ending—one that will rock his life to the core. (From Amazon)

My Thoughts: I think this YA novel should be required reading for every high school student. No matter who they are, they will find at least one character they relate to. I listened to it in audio so I really got connected with each character and man, I just didn't want it to end. I can't wait to see more from this author in the future.

 

The Family Romanov by Candace Fleming

Summary: Here is the tumultuous, heartrending, true story of the Romanovs—at once an intimate portrait of Russia's last royal family and a gripping account of its undoing. Using captivating photos and compelling first person accounts, award-winning author Candace Fleming (Amelia Lost; The Lincolns) deftly maneuvers between the imperial family’s extravagant lives and the plight of Russia's poor masses, making this an utterly mesmerizing read as well as a perfect resource for meeting Common Core standards. (From Amazon)

My Thoughts: This was a state award nominee book that I kept putting off reading because I thought that it would draaaaaag. Complete opposite. I have never binge read a nonfiction book like this before! It was so intriguing to read about a time period that I had never dove into before. The style of writing made it more like a novel instead of informative text. I wish it wasn't such a high level of reading so more of my students could get their hands on it, but I still enjoyed it thoroughly.

 

The Selection by Kiera Cass

Summary: For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want. Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. (From Amazon)

My Thoughts: I had seen this book everywhere, but I didn't finally pick it up until my volleyball girls were raving about it. Seeing that it was compared to The Bachelor I thought I wouldn't be a fan, but I totally was! And couldn't wait to read the rest... so good.

 

I can't wait to see what reads 2017 brings! See you back here soon.

Back to the Books,

Audra


Meet The Reeding Librarian

I am The Reeding Librarian, otherwise known as Audra Reed.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
bottom of page